The Military Heritage Annual Award

Directors Announce 2017 Winner – The Military Heritage Annual Award

The Military Heritage of Ireland Trust (CLG) promotes activities that facilitate an enhanced awareness and appreciation of Ireland’s military heritage. This unique heritage is common to the different political and religious traditions of Ireland. In advancing military heritage, the Trust promotes the study of Irish military history and, in particular, the study of Irish men and women in the profession of arms both at home and overseas, irrespective of the Theatre of Operations, National Flag, or Regimental Colour.

The Trust has provided an Award, originally of €300 and recently increased to €500, to the undergraduate student whose paper is deemed outstanding by a panel of judges, and which, through new research, adds to our knowledge of Ireland’s military heritage. The title of the award is “The Military Heritage Annual Award”.

During its February 2018 meeting, the Trust’s Board of Directors announced the 2017 winner of the Military Heritage Annual Award in memory of Major Charlie Trainor MM. The Board selected Mr Mark Scannell’s paper titled “Four Irish Catholic Generals in Victoria’s Army”.

Mr Scannell is a graduate of National University Galway. From Galway, he is completing a PhD programme in History. Mr Scannell’s paper will be accessed on the Trust’s Website in due course. The Chairman will present the 2017 award to Mr Scannell during the Annual General Meeting on 29 May.

The Directors formally acknowledged the involvement of Dr Pádraic Lenihan NUI Galway for overseeing the notification and submission process, and the three Judges – Dr Niall Ó Ciosáin NUI Galway, Doctor Ian Speller – NUI Maynooth, and Professor Eunan O’Halpin – Trinity College.

The 2017 competition was the last in the series, and has been replaced with the “The Military Heritage Research Bursary” which was formally launched in January 2018.

Read more about the Military Heritage Annual Award >>

Read more about the Military Heritage Research Bursary >>